Read the Contract Twice

Today’s tidbit of advice to myself is: read the project description.

A recent client thanked me for my work and asked for the bill. Since this was contracted through a third-party website that normally has fixed-price projects, I replied “I had bid $X and would not try to ask for more”.

The polite reply was “I asked for a bid on the basis of #Y words, but it explicitly said that you would be paid proportionately for 500-word increments”.

Well, I was blushing as I re-read the project description. Yes, there it was, clear as day. Microsoft Word gave me the word count so I could send the invoice.

I know why I had forgotten that part of the project description: I had been overwhelmed by the amount of detail it needed. Besides, I lost several hours of sleep last night finishing the draft that was accepted.

Tip:

Read the project description or contract, especially when you think the scope is creeping…or when you think everything is just fine.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

